By the end of October 2026, ten US states had signed plug-in solar laws. Six of them are already in force, and four take effect in 2027. There is no federal framework, and each law is written differently: most allow up to 1,200 W through an outlet without a utility interconnection agreement, but they differ on certification, notice to the utility, landlords and batteries. On the product side, the new safety benchmark is UL 3700, an Outline of Investigation first published in December 2025. Only a handful of products have announced certification to it so far.
Why the US needs state laws
In most US states, anything that generates electricity in parallel with the grid needs an interconnection agreement with the utility, usually with an application, a review and sometimes a fee. A small kit that plugs into an outlet does not fit that process. The new state laws carve out these small devices: below a power limit, and if the device is certified by a nationally recognised testing laboratory (NRTL), the utility may not require prior approval, charge a fee or demand extra equipment.
The National Electrical Code (NEC) has not caught up. UL Solutions states that the 2026 NEC, like all previous editions, does not recognise plug-in PV. A set of proposed Tentative Interim Amendments to the NEC, which would add a definition of a plug-in PV system and rules for cord- and plug-connected power sources, was open for public comment until 20 November 2026. They are proposals, not adopted rules.
The ten states with a law
| State | Law | In force | Output limit | Certification in the text | Notice to utility |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Utah | HB 340 (2025) | Yes, since May 2025 | 1,200 W, standard 120 V outlet | UL or equivalent NRTL, and NEC | Not required |
| Maine | LD 1730 (2026) | Yes, since July 2026 | 420 W self-installed; 420–1,200 W by a licensed electrician on a dedicated circuit | UL 3700 or comparable NRTL standard | Above 420 W, within 30 days |
| Colorado | HB26-1007 | Yes, since August 2026; HOA and sales rules from 1 Jan 2027 | 1,920 W, one device per wall outlet | Listed by an NRTL; from 2027, devices above 391 W must be listed to be sold | Utility may ask for it |
| Maryland | HB 1532 (2026) | Yes, since July 2026 | 1,200 W, standard outlet, one per meter | UL or equivalent NRTL | Before installation |
| Connecticut | HB 5340, PA 26-127 | Yes, since 1 Oct 2026 | 1,200 W, 120 V outlet, one per meter | UL or equivalent NRTL, plus UL 1741, IEEE 1547 and NEC | Not required |
| Vermont | S.202, Act 149 | Yes, since July 2026 | 1,200 W per meter | Reported: UL 3700 and IEEE 1547-2018 | Not reported |
| Virginia | HB 395 (2026) | 1 Jan 2027 | 1,200 W per customer | NRTL, and NEC | Before installation, on a state form |
| New Hampshire | SB 540 (2026) | 1 Jan 2027 | 1,200 W, one per customer | NRTL, to national safety standards | Utility may ask for it |
| California | SB 868 (2026) | 1 Jan 2027 | 1,200 W per dwelling | Reported: UL or equivalent laboratory | Not reported |
| New Jersey | S2368 (2026) | About 1 Mar 2027 | 1,200 W | Reported: UL 3700 | Not reported |
For Vermont, California and New Jersey, the details come from news reports and official press releases, as we could not read the enacted text.
Points that matter in practice:
- "Passed" is not "in force". Virginia, New Hampshire, California and New Jersey have signed laws that do not apply yet. New York's SUNNY Act passed both chambers in May 2026 but, as of late October, had not been signed.
- The limit is not always 1,200 W. Colorado allows up to 1,920 W. Maine allows self-installation only up to 420 W; larger systems up to 1,200 W need a licensed electrician and a dedicated circuit.
- Most laws say "NRTL", not "UL 3700". Only some of the laws name UL 3700 directly (Maine; Vermont and New Jersey as reported). Others require certification by UL or an equivalent nationally recognised testing laboratory, and Connecticut names UL 1741. In practice, UL 3700 is becoming the benchmark that laboratories and regulators point to, but sellers should read the wording of each state's law.
- Small-device exemptions. Virginia, Colorado and Maryland exempt devices of 391 W or less from listing rules that would otherwise require changes to the building wiring. New Jersey reportedly has a similar exemption at about 400 W.
- Notice to the utility. Maryland and Virginia require notice before installation, and Maine above 420 W. Elsewhere it is not required, or the utility may ask for it.
- Renters and HOAs. Rules vary widely. Colorado (from 2027) and New Jersey limit bans by homeowners' associations and landlords; Virginia limits bans by larger landlords but does not override HOA covenants; Vermont lets landlords set reasonable restrictions; several states say nothing.
- Batteries. Maine is the only state whose law explicitly covers a plug-in battery system. The other texts we read define the device as photovoltaic and do not mention storage.
- California's exemption is temporary. As reported, its exemption from interconnection rules ends on 1 January 2030 unless extended.
Bills are also moving in other states, including Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Pennsylvania, and a federal bill was introduced in October 2026. None of these was law at the time of writing.
What UL 3700 is
UL 3700 is the Outline of Investigation for Interactive Plug-In Photovoltaic Equipment and Systems, published by UL Standards & Engagement. The first edition appeared in December 2025, and UL Solutions launched its testing and certification programme on 8 January 2026. Other laboratories, including Intertek and CSA Group, also certify to it.
An Outline of Investigation is not yet a consensus ANSI standard. It is the document laboratories use to certify a new type of product while a full standard is developed. A bi-national ANSI/CAN/UL 3700 standard is in development, with no publication date announced.
According to UL Solutions, UL 3700 covers construction, performance and labelling, and addresses:
- Connectors, including dedicated plug-in PV connectors and connector configurations designed for this use
- Dedicated and non-dedicated circuits, and protection against overloading the circuit the device feeds into
- Touch safety: no hazardous voltage on accessible contacts, for example on the prongs of an unplugged lead
- GFCI protection and compatibility with ground-fault circuit interrupters in the home
- Grid behaviour such as anti-islanding, by reference to UL 1741 and IEEE 1547
It can be applied to individual components, such as a microinverter, and to complete systems. Intertek lists integrated energy storage within plug-in PV equipment as in scope, with the battery parts also assessed to their own standards, such as UL 9540.
UL 3700 itself does not set a 1,200 W limit; the power limits come from the state laws.
- State lawsets the power limit and the rules for utilities, landlords and HOAs
- NRTL certificationUL 3700, UL 1741 or as the state requires
- Notice to the utilityonly where the state requires it
- Customer plugs inwithin the state's limit
Which products are certified so far
By October 2026, three manufacturers had publicly announced UL 3700 certification or compliance:
| Product | Announced | Laboratory | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| APsystems EZ1 | July 2026 | CSA Group | Microinverter |
| Hoymiles HiFlow Pro | July 2026 | Not named | Microinverter (announced as "UL 3700-compliant") |
| Mango Power S | September 2026 | Intertek | 1,200 W plug-in kit (not clear whether the whole kit or the microinverter) |
These are the manufacturers' own announcements. Before listing a product, check the exact model in the certifying laboratory's public directory. Other well-known plug-in products were still listed as pending in October 2026. Note also that some rules look at the complete system, not just the microinverter: New York's pending bill, for example, requires listing as a complete plug-in PV system.
What sellers and installers should check
- The state. Is the law signed, and is it in force on the date you sell or install? What is the output limit there?
- The certification. Which standard and which laboratory does the state's law name? Is the exact model (kit or microinverter) listed in that laboratory's directory, not only "pending" or "compliant"?
- The complete kit. If the state looks at the system, check that the combination you sell (panels, microinverter, lead, mounting) is what was certified.
- The electrical side. Does the product need a dedicated circuit or a specific connector? In Maine, does the size require a licensed electrician?
- Notice. Does the customer have to notify the utility before or after installation?
- The property. For renters and homes in an HOA, check what the state allows and get consent where needed.
- Batteries. Unless the state's law covers storage, as Maine's does, treat a battery as a separate system under the normal rules.
How VaySunic can help
VaySunic designs and manufactures microinverters, plug-in solar kits and home batteries for 230 V, 50 Hz markets such as Europe and the UK. We do not currently hold UL 3700 certification, and our products are not sold as plug-in devices in the US. A US product needs its own design (120 V, 60 Hz and US connectors) and its own certification. If you are planning a plug-in solar or storage range for the US, contact us to discuss our plans and timelines, or see our OEM and ODM programme.
Sources
- Utah HB 340 (2025), enrolled text (PDF)
- Maine LD 1730, chaptered law (PDF)
- Virginia HB 395, Acts of Assembly 2026 chapter 1052 (PDF)
- Colorado HB26-1007, signed act (PDF)
- Maryland HB 1532, 2026 chapter 353 (PDF)
- Connecticut Public Act 26-127 (PDF)
- New Hampshire SB 540 (2026), final text
- Vermont S.202, Act 149 (PDF)
- Office of the Governor of New Jersey, press release, 1 September 2026
- pv magazine USA, Newsom signs California plug-in solar bill, 1 October 2026
- New York State Senate, A9111C (SUNNY Act), bill status
- UL Solutions, testing and certification framework for plug-in solar, 8 January 2026
- UL Solutions, Plug-in photovoltaic systems: residential safety concerns
- UL Solutions, The Code Authority: coordination between model codes and standards
- NFPA, NFPA 70 proposed TIA 1951 (PDF)
- Intertek, UL 3700 testing and certification
- APsystems USA, EZ1 UL 3700
- Hoymiles, HiFlow Pro product release
- Mango Power, Mango Power S earns UL 3700 certification, September 2026